Posted in Hot Wheels

Hot wheels Muscle Mania

Toys ‘R’ Us should be embarrassed right now.

I am positive that, as a child, I could go into the eponymous retailer and find row upon row of diecast vehicles – Hot Wheels, Matchbox, Majorette. Now I’m lucky if I find a single one worth closer examination.

I blame Disney. Approximately 90% of the toy cars on sale in that store must be from the “Cars” franchise. The rest? Well, let’s just say if you’re not a fan of branded items, then you’re in the right place.

It’s depressing, but there is hope. Embarrassing hope. I find a better range of cars at supermarkets than I do toy stores. Which is a good thing, as they’re also cheaper.

I got these four from The Range.

20160513_005519-1

That’s a home improvement store, for those who don’t know. The floor space dedicated to toys is negligible. But check out the great motors they had!

20160513_005024

There were, of course, a lot of models which didn’t interest me in the slightest. There was however a green BMW M4 and a white/blue Camaro I wish I could have taken home too.

However, I have to limit myself. And a Dodge Challenger in black/yellow, Dodge Dart, Chevy Impala and Buick GSX is enough Americana for one day.

20160513_004840

The Impala was my favourite in particular. While the gold base was rather brazen, it worked well with the beautiful, metal flake bronze, and the interior I thought was rather tasteful and restrained.

20160513_005337

Compare it to the Challenger, which, in true fashion, could be considered quite challenging to look at – the black on yellow won’t be to everyone’s taste, but I’ve always liked the colour yellow on certain cars. Particularly when they deserve to be as flashy as the Dodge!

I’ll be writing more about these vehicles in the future, but for now, let’s just reflect on the fact that neither of the two toy retailers in my city – The Entertainer, and Toys R Us – came anywhere near to supplying these. Bear that in mind, UK shoppers, if you’re on the look out for cheap, varied diecasts. Poundland and Morrisons are the place to be.

20160513_005041

Author:

Graphic designer, writer for Classic American auto magazine, journalist.

Leave a Reply

